The Silk Roads have been inscribed to the UNESCO World Heritage List

23 June 2014

The Silk Roads have been inscribed to the UNESCO World Heritage List as the “Silk Roads: the Routes Network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor” presented by China, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.

This decision was made on 22 June 2014 by the World Heritage Committee during its 38th session ongoing in Doha, Qatar from 15 to 25 June 2014.

“Silk Roads: the Routes Network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor” is a 5,000 kilometre section of the extensive Silk Roads network, stretching from Chang’an/Luoyang, the central capital of China in the Han and Tang Dynasties, to the Zhetysu Region of Central Asia. It took shape between the 2nd century BC and 1st century AD and remained in use until the 16th century, linking multiple civilizations, and facilitating far-reaching exchanges of activities in trade, religious beliefs, scientific knowledge, technological innovation, cultural practices and the arts.

The 33 components included in the routes network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor of the Silk Roads include capital cities and palace complexes of various empires and kingdoms, trading settlements, Buddhist cave temples, ancient paths, posthouses, passes, beacon towers, sections of The Great Wall, fortifications, tombs and religious buildings.

Among those 33 components, 8 sites are located in Republic of Kazakhstan:
  • Site of Kostobe
  • Site of Aktobe
  • Site of Kulan
  • Site of Kayalyk
  • Site of Talgar
  • Site of Ornek
  • Site of Akyrtas
  • Site of Karamergen

22 sites in People’s Republic of China:
  • Site of Weiyang Palace in Chang’an City of the Western Han Dynasty
  • Tomb of Zhang Qian
  • Site of Yumen Pass
  • Site of Han'gu Pass of Han Dynasty in Xin’an County
  • Site of Xuanquan Posthouse
  • Site of Shihao Section of Xiaohan Ancient Route
  • Site of Luoyang City from the Eastern Han to Northern Wei Dynasty
  • Maijishan Cave-Temple Complex
  • Bingling Cave-Temple Complex
  • Site of Daming Palace in Chang'an City of Tang Dynasty
  • Site of Suoyang City
  • Site of Dingding Gate, Luoyang City of Sui and Tang Dynasties
  • Bin County Cave Temple
  • Great Wild Goose Pagoda
  • Small Wild Goose Pagoda
  • Xingjiaosi Pagodas
  • Site of Qocho City
  • Kizilgaha Beacon Tower
  • Site of Yar City
  • Kizil Cave-Temple Complex
  • Subash Buddhist Ruins
  • Site of Bashbaliq City
The other 3 sites in Kyrgyz Republic:
  • Site of Ak-Beshim (City of Suyab)
  • Site of Burana (City of Balasagun)
  • Site of KrasnayaRechka (City of Nevaket)

The other nomination of the Silk Roads presented by Tajikistan and Uzbekistan: “Silk Roads: Penjikent-Samarkand-Poykent Corridor” was referred back for the revision.
To date, the World Heritage List recognizes 1001 sites in 161 States Parties to the 1972 Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage.

Suoyang City ©Conservation Institution of Site of Suoyang City

Yar city ©Conservation Institution of Site of Yar City

UNESCO Almaty Facebook page (Russian):
silk+roads+heritage+corridors Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor: components in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan

Permanent link: